Should You Talk to (Agile) Strangers?


In the past few years, I haven’t stopped thinking about what makes Agile work. The Agile Manifesto was written by masters in the field, and those ideas have stood the test of time. However, while the manifesto is quite rich in ideas, it’s still too vague for many. And others just do not know how to start the journey…

I had the opportunity to share some insights with the community at the Agile Tour events in Montreal and Quebec City. After years of thinking about how to get better at my (software development) craft, I tried to summarize what I had learned and turn it into two introductory workshops.

At the Montreal workshop, I invited people to think about what Agile brings to the table, its goals, and how it works. Of course, some code was involved. Otherwise, it wouldn’t be about Agility. It would be about Yet Another Process. Slides are available, though I doubt they would be useful to those who did not attend the workshop.

At the Quebec workshop, I invited teams to think about specific systemic problems they have at their workplace, and give some basic tools to solve them. The most important ones are to allocate time to LEARN and THINK FOR THEMSELVES. Those are the first steps to introducing changes. I promised to give some more material next week, so if you attended, watch your inbox!

I would like to thank all the participants for their ideas and feedbacks. I would also like to thank the original creators of Agile Tour (http://www.agiletour.org), my fellow Agile Tour Montreal 2010 organizers and those of Quebec city. Thanks for the numerous positive tweets and blog posts..

And now, let’s get some rest.

About this entry